WCCS Students Honored at 2023 Academic Awards Ceremony


James M. Mitchell
3000 Earl Goodwin Parkway
Selma, AL 36701




For more information, contact:
Johnny Moss, III
Wallace Community College Selma
(334) 327-2209

April 14, 2023

WCCS Students Honored at 2023 Academic Awards Ceremony


 Wallace Community College Selma held its annual Honors Ceremony on Thursday, April 13, 2023 at 7:00 pm in the Earl Goodwin Theatre. This ceremony recognizes the academic achievements of students in a number of organizations. The following awards were presented: Academic Achievement, Academic Excellence, All-Alabama Academic Team Members, Most Outstanding Academic Athletes, and Phi Theta Kappa; Alpha Eta Tau Chapter. "The students being honored tonight represent what is right with education in America. I applaud them for their academic achievement and encourage them to give back to their community," said Dr. James M. Mitchell, WCCS president.

To achieve Academic Excellence, a student must have taken at least twelve hours per semester and earned a 4.00 grade point average for two of the last three semesters (Spring through Fall Semester), or, a student must have been a part-time student, accumulated at least twenty-four hours, and maintained a 4.00 grade point average. To qualify for this honor, a student must have attended at least two semesters, Spring 2021-22 through Fall 2022-23. Those students are: Amyrrean Acoff, Suhail Almojadid, La'Niyah Anderson, Alexis Blevins, Ashley Crowell, Kenterri Ellis, Shikeria Fails, Erica Goldsby, Tremiah Gordon, Kemiyah Harris, Ma'Taya Hasberry, Malyk Hayden, Nakisha Jenkins, Jordan Johnson, Waymond Johnson, Ty'Keria Jones, Rehmat Lakhani, Rodney McCarroll, Cody McCrary, Starquayjah Mendenhall, Jade Mims, Rashaud Morgan, Morchun Moten-Weeden, Brody Roberts, Monique Struggs, George Tarver, Dorothy Tubbs, Shadai Upshaw, Nolan Wells, Sherry Wiggins, and Aja Wiltshire.

To achieve Academic Achievement, a student must have maintained a 3.50 - 3.99 grade point average for two of the last three semesters (Spring through Fall Semester). They have taken twelve hours each semester to qualify for the Dean’s List or have been a part-time student, accumulated a minimum of twenty-four hours, and attended at least two semesters since the Spring 2021-22 through Fall 2022-23. Those students are: Morgan Allday, Lacorey Anger, Destiny Baker, Joshua Brown, Teriyana Bruno, Johnathan Castro-Gonzales, Xavier Charleston, Gregory Dansby, Joseph Draime, Danielle Edwards, Ryderious Fails, Cameron Ford, Shaliyah Frison, Jeffery Gardner, Jamarcus Gipson, Lakai Gipson, Akerriyana Golson, Davion Hatcher, Weylan Hatcher, Mark Hill, Stephen Hunt, Letasha Irby, Romello Jackson, Jaliyah Kennedy, Wody McCarley, Ariah Pettway, Kenaya Powe, Cameron Rias, Redderick Rutledge, James Rylee, Zakia Scott, Caziah Simmons, Corey Smith, Daysha Smith, Ja'Trayveon Spears, Felecia Sprott, Kaylin Stanberry, Zekel Toles, Sa'Mya Tompkins, Ronald Underwood, Abigelle Vinson, Mamie Williams, and Landen Williamson.

The All-Alabama Team is selected using the following criteria: A student must have completed 18 semester credit hours in pursuit of an associate degree, have a cumulative GPA of 3.25, show evidence of involvement in high school, college, and community activities, show evidence of public service activities, and show evidence of sharing their academic and technical skills with others.  These students will receive a $1,000 scholarship for being selected as All-Alabama Academic Team Members. The recipients of this award were Aja Wiltshire and Janet Flemmon.

The Most Outstanding Academic Athlete awards were presented to Aja Wiltshire and Cody McCrary. The recipients of this award are a male and female athlete who have completed at least 25 hours, have a high grade point average, and display outstanding sportsmanship and character of all WCCS participating athletes.

Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society inducted 91 new members into its Alpha Eta Tau Chapter this spring. Membership is by invitation only and after a student has completed a minimum of 12 credit hours of associate degree course work and earned a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Inductees are: Karleigh Allday, Suhail Almojadid, La’Niyah Anderson, Shelby Baldwin, Perla Barranca-Sanchez, Samyra Binion, Cornell Blevins, Arianna Boyd, Alliyah Brown, Coulter Bumgarner, Sameer Butt, Tammy Childers, Garrison Coleman, Cierra Dandy, Ethan Davis, Isaiah Davis, Tiara Davis, Sydney Dicks, Taniya Dixon, Charles Duke, Renee Eaves, Jessica Edmonds, Danielle Edwards, Jamiya Edwards, Alexandrea Ertha, Austin Evans, Erica Evans, Kierra Everson, Adriana Fitch, Janet Flemmon, Alexis Forbes, Kadarius Foster, Jeffery Garrette, Melissa Gibson, Tremiah Gorden, Olivia Hall, Marcus Hannah, Miles Hannah, Brittan Hansard, Arthur Hardy, Chryshaun Hatcher, Malyk Hayden, Ta’mya Hayes, Jacob Heywood, Kelci Hicks, Robert Hollis, Jeremy Holman, Peyton Hood, Stephen Hunt, Keshona Hunter, Grant Ingram, Ja’kyra Jackson, Connor Johnson, Brian Jones, Janiya Jones, Ty’Keria Jones, Kacey Judge, Kenley Kauffman, Taylor Lamar, Keshyia Lawson, Malaka Lewis, Orienne Lewis, Anna Lott, Caley Lyon, Shanelle Marshall-Wiley, Logan Martin, Cody McCrary, Ty’Asia McGhee, Donovan McIntosh, Meah Monghan, Deanna Moore, Katie Morgan, Makayla Muse, Erin Nelson, Tiffany Perkins, Asia Phillips, Jon Pruitt, Hanna Reed, Alexis Robbins, Jared Robertson, Ahniyah Robinson, Chelsea Ross, Hannah Scott, Anne Smith, Julianna Stephens, Robin Struble, Olivia Stull, Luke Taylor, Melina Taylor, Colby Thacker, Zekel Toles, Sa’Mya Tompkins, Nia Turner, Shadai Upshaw, Stephanie Vaughn, Abigelle Vinson, Annsley Wallace, Natalie Wallace, Ashley Washington, Taylor Weeks, Kaleria Williams, Aja Wiltshire, and Cynthia Wyatt.

About WCCS

Wallace Community College works to provide high-quality learning-centered educational opportunities and services through diverse instructional-delivery modes that are responsive to individual, community, state, and global needs.


Downloadable copy:
WCCS Students Honored at 2023 Academic Awards Ceremony